Placemats

P1040667

Upon request, I made these place mats for mum as a birthday present. In between the material is a layer of wadding that is heat resistant. To make a place mat I cut the wadding 5mm shorter than the place mat material. I placed the place mat ‘bottom’ right side up, then the wadding and then the place mat ‘top’ right side down. I pinned the three layers so it wouldn’t slip when I sewed the edges. I left a gap when sewing so that I could turn it inside out. I ironed it and then sewed around the place mat edge again to secure the wadding in place. Hand sew the opening closed with a slip stitch.

I made 4 placemats as a Christmas present for Gran in 2016. I quilted the place mat in a similar design to the fabric.

P1070618.JPG

 

 

2 thoughts on “Placemats

Leave a Reply

